ThroughTheLens

Branding Labuan April 16, 2007

Filed under: All you need to know about Labuan — saifulrizan @ 1:27 am

It came to my mind lately that I’ve been blogging loosely, without creating a statement and perception that will affect my readers. I think I used to be an informative blogger, maybe not, or maybe I was. I think that what we might call blogger-block, as if it is a writer’s block or any other phrase that merely an interpretation of lacking on ideas.

Recently, we talked much about Labuan in Labuan.net, a virtual forums for Labuan citizens and peoples that interested to know about Labuan. We talked about development, plans, problems and many more, with a purpose of getting to a result that could be use for further action. Let’s talk about it later.

This time, or maybe this year, or maybe forever, this blogger will be on a mission. The idea resulted from this blog itself, that it has been a ‘one-man show’ blog. This blog entries and photos resulted from a conversation with certain peoples, but mostly with my girlfriend. I want to give her credit too. But then, I don’t think writing about how my life’s going with my girlfriend everyday are appropriate, besides, that’s not my way of writing. What happened between us shall be kept between us. So I came out with a win-win decision, run a duo blog (but still under the name of www.saifulrizan.blogspot.com) and both of us work out on blogging about this island. See, how diplomatic I am.

Branding Labuan that is. This blog will runs a series of reviews on events, places and moment that you can experience in Labuan. It was my plan to tarnish a perception on Labuan Island as merely a place for night life entertainment. We have a great destination as well. So I think this might be a medium to tell peoples about what Labuan is.

This time, this blogger wont run a one-man show, but accompanied by my girlfriend, a girl that started to get her hands on photography. She’s been a companion whenever I decided to blog about places in Labuan. She’s planning to get a Sony T100, simply because of the sleek design and of course, fascinated by the TV commercial of it. When she’s getting better in photography, I will set up a blog for her so peoples can share her point of view from her camera lens.

I don’t know if it is only me or is it true that there’s no effort given on promoting Labuan as a tourism spot. That is a solid reason for the birth of this mission. I remember a Federal Territory Minister released a statement that a lots of money will be invested on developing Labuan, but it’s still a plan. We bloggers should be thankful for every action and freedom of our speech does not limited by a budget that needs to go through approvals and maybe a lame bureaucracy system.

To all my readers, thank you so much for supporting this blog since the beginning. It has been a great experience to have you all giving opinions, supports and critics to help me make this blog informative and useful.

This time, I am not alone, and this blog now have a mission.

 

5 Responses to “Branding Labuan”

  1. cindy Says:

    If your gf starts to blog, I will definitely go visit her blog too! I think it’s a good idea for her to have a photoblog or something where she can pour out her talent into. Photography is a great thing! ;D

  2. SR215 Says:

    Yeah, that’s for sure.

    I gave her a set of tutorials (got from Internet) so she can study what is composition, lighting, aperture, ISO, bla bla bla…

    If she can prove that she’s better than me.. I surrender la. Hahahahha

  3. cindy Says:

    Eh, mind telling me where you got those tutorials? I kinda wanna learn a bit about photography when I have time. ;P

  4. SR215 Says:

    Dear readers,

    Links to photography tutorials uploaded under the “They Rock The Lense”.

  5. albert Says:

    I like the chimney shot!


Leave a Reply

