ThroughTheLens

Rugby Clinic at SK Layang – Layangan, Labuan June 25, 2007

Filed under: Labuan Rugby Club,Local Event — saifulrizan @ 12:48 am
Note : I started to hate my job.. really!

Last Saturday, 23rd June 2007, Labuan Rugby Club cooperated with teachers from 9 primary schools in Labuan to conduct a rugby clinic for those kids. It was an apprentice program to introduce these kids to touch rugby, for Under 12 category. The program started at 7.30 in the morning, with the participation of almost a hundred students from 9 participating school in Labuan.

The program includes 4 stations; Handling, Scrum, Line out and Kicking, to introduce initial formation in touch rugby. The rules for this category doesn’t similar to adult rugby game. No tackling, challenge ball during scrum and many more. The only way to stop the opponent is to tap their body, without making full body contact. It’s the basic game to master before moving to the next level.

I conduct the scrum station. According to the rule, scrum formation resulted from knock on, fumble and forward pass. For Under 12 category, there’s no challenging from opponent during scrum, so it’s easier and safe for kids. At first, it’s not easy to conduct children to listen to your instruction. But then I came up with some ideas.

I asked the kids in my station to sit in front of me. I introduced myself, including the other 2 players, Anuar and some new guy from Sekolah Menegah Sains, Labuan. I started my speech by implementing some essence of playing rugby and teamwork.

“This is your team, no matter from what school you are. From now on, under my observation, I am your coach, you’re my players. I demand only three things from you all. Number 1, I demand your discipline. Number 2, do not talk when I’m talking. Number 3, if you have question or feeling pain, raise your hand to get my attention”

It’s not hard to ask them to be civilized and listen to your instruction. There’s a different way of using the intonation and how you put your words together to talk to children. Kids won’t get it if you raise your voice. But they will, if you create a boundary between you and them, and talk like there’s a mutual respect between both.

So I think the program was a total success, with all participants show their improvement and a promising skills and talents. After all, it’s easy to teach them, when they listen to you. Anyway, some of us were called “teacher, coach, abang, sir and some of us, PAKCIK” Lol!!! Anyway, I really hope if there’ll be another program to follow up this one. It’s a good start to develop rugby game in Labuan after all.

So, I represent you the Labuan Rugby Club members that involved in the rugby clinic. Most of them are the junior members of the club. Regardless the junior status, they showed their capabilities in leading a group. Thanks to you guys.

 

2 Responses to “Rugby Clinic at SK Layang – Layangan, Labuan”

  1. cindy Says:

    Wah, hello there Coach Saiful. 😛

    Wow, I think it’s really cool that you’re able to communicate with the kids. Not everyone have the patience when it comes to coaching and teaching. R-E-S-P-E-C-T! xD

    PS: Sorry to that you’re getting sick of your job. Is there other alternative job that you could consider? 😦

  2. SR215 Says:

    Yea, maybe I got that essence called family-guy. Who knows.. 🙂

    Well, I’ll quit this job at DEcember, right after touring OZ and NZ this end of year (to complete the remaining job).


Leave a Reply

