ThroughTheLens

Poring Hot Spring – Revisited July 10, 2007

Filed under: KK Invasion — saifulrizan @ 5:39 pm

Note : Few more days to go, and I’m still not sure where to go to take pictures!

Last Monday, I drive to Poring alone, with only a camera and full tank of petrol. Perhaps I was intimidated by few Traverama magazine I bought couple days back, or maybe I’m just dead bored to spend another day in my hotel room. I left Kota Kinabalu at 8 in the morning, heading straight to Tuaran before I started flipping map. I remember the last time I stepped my foot on Poring soil was when I was a kid, probably 8 or 9 years old.

The famous Mount Kinabalu. Apology for the clouds. Don’t have the power to remove it.

A result of using the tele mode of my DSC H5

The road still there, with some addition of concrete walls at some places. Perhaps to solid the foundation of the hills. I almost wanted to stop at all places to take the panoramic view, but with speeding trucks and TAXI, I prefer to keep driving until I can find a place where I can hit the brake properly and pull off to the roadside. I admit driving behind a lorry driver with drift-like driving skill was thrilling and make you want to go along. Please! Do not drive like an asshole and value you and others live!I arrived at Poring Hot Spring at 10.30 plus. I couldn’t remember how much I paid for the entrance fee, but I think it’s less than RM 5.00. After packing my stuff, I head for the Canopy Walkway first, then the Kipungit Waterfall. I’ll upload the pictures from my visit to both places in my next post. For now, this is the picture of Poring Hot Spring.

I left the place at 3.30, wishing that I could reach Kota Kinabalu before 4.30 so I can pick up my mom and dad from the ferry terminal. Crap. No one can reach KK in 1 hour!So I just drive slowly and enjoy the nature and the fume from the diesel-powered vehicles…

Thick fog might be normal here

The next time I come to Poring, I’ll complete my visit by hiking to the Langanan Waterfall (about 3,365 metres from the entrance) and the Bat Cave (about 675 metres from the entrance). I’ll be there again next year!

More info about Poring Hot Spring at Sabah Tourism Page.

 

2 Responses to “Poring Hot Spring – Revisited”

  1. cindy Says:

    Eeee… I miss Poring! Used to go there with my family and relatives on school break. 😀

  2. SR215 Says:

    I got my first cut on my foot there.. it’s still visible. 🙂


Leave a Reply

