ThroughTheLens

Eneloop : The battery for the 21st century September 21, 2007

Filed under: Product Review — saifulrizan @ 1:50 pm

Note : Want more traffic to your blog? BlogRush is the ultimate answer.

Henry

HenryTB from Lelong.com forum is another sifu that never failed to answer all my queries when it comes to photography. He’s one wise and good uncle guy, and he helped me a lot. In one of our conversation, he told me there’s a new battery, good for electronic device that uses a lot of power.

I’ve been in search for that battery ever since, and too bad, there’s no camera shop (that I’ve visited) sell that kind of batteries.

But today, a short visit to Dick Smith Electronics (a premier electronic mall in Australia, and New Zealand), and a slight glance to the cute girl at the counter reminds me of uncle Henry, and the image of the battery he showed to me. I stopped, and immediately bought the item, without hesitance.


It’s the Sanyo Eneloop battery, a combination of a rechargeable and a disposable battery, the next evolutionary step for batteries into the 21st century. It costs me AUD 30 for this pack, 4 AA size batteries, with the charger included. Among the advantages of using Eneloop battery are :

  1. immediate use (you can use it straight away from the pack – already charged from the factory)
  2. low self-disharge (Once charges, eneloop keeps its charge even if you store it for 6 or 12 months. ( 90 per cent of the charge after 6 months, 85 per cent after 12 months )
  3. environment protection (It can be charged up to 1000 times – so it can save 999 disposable batteries from polluting the planet!)
  4. universal application (you can use it on mostly electronic items)
  5. higher performance
  6. recyclable package

I am really fortunate to found this battery. I really hope it can perform up to its par or as good as those reviews I’ve read.


I will try this battery tomorrow, when I will fly with an ultra light aircraft, and take photos from the sky.

 

Leave a Reply

