ThroughTheLens

What I want in marriage October 29, 2007

Filed under: Personal Opinion — saifulrizan @ 5:18 am
Note: Recently, I experienced a very good mood of writing. It was like I want to write about everything, and the ideas keep coming. It’s a blessing, just in time when I guess there’s not much I can offer from my blog anymore – after being drained by plenty of product reviews and all that. Bear with me please, I’m trying to improve my writing skills to accommodate everyone taste – it should not be heavy, but readable to anyone.

I’ve spent few days in KK, right after spending 6 days of Syawal in Sandakan. Kota Kinabalu never failed me. I have lots of nice friends here, thanks to my extended years during my UiTM year; I managed to make more friends there. As usual, I’ve spent few days with them, exchanging stories of friends. I was not surprised to know that few of our friends already married, some just got engaged, and some still making their way to the next level. Instead, I was surprised of the rumors flying around (for almost 3 years) that I’ve engaged to whoever it was. Thank you guys, at least I’m still in your talk circle.

Personally, I don’t think I will go anywhere near that status. I’m happy with my current status – no further comment required. I guess it’s just the effect of current trend; accumulate wealth while we can, and settle down when it’s all has been lay down on the table. I keep myself contained with the urge of an opportunist. It’s all there, ready to be grabbed, and I’m all with it. Being young, I tried to keep myself occupied with anything that I can learn now. It’s unfair to put myself in the comfort zone all the time, because I’ve learned that all the good things come after a plenty of hard work. What’s learning without implementation? It’s like raising a kid without giving him a direction in life.

Many peoples around me have asked the same thing; marriage. It’s something that I’m still weak at. Marriage is not just being attached to your spouse, have a kid, and raise them together. I’m not a male chauvinist pig. I want a marriage to be meaningful, and I have a complete control of it, of course towards a better way. I want to guide the family towards a way, that exceeds more than what I’ve been thinking of. I want everyone in my family to be able to take care of themselves, but still put our mind and soul as a family. I want everyone in the family to be able to pursue their dreams, despite the challenges they have to face, because I want my family to be successful in whatever way they will choose. I want to be able to give my family a better basic need, simply for the healthy environment that I’ve dreamt of, in all aspects. I want everything positive, and yes, I mean it, I want everything!

Since I see myself far from perfect, or anywhere near that, I’ll rest my case till I know I’m ready. So stop asking the same thing. No girls want a guy without bright future.

 

4 Responses to “What I want in marriage”

  1. Haizum Says:

    I think that these things will settle on their own.

    I find it commendable that you’re really thinking things through. Marriage is a one time thing (or it should be, anyhow), and big thing at that, so getting everything (including yourself) in the best possible form is a good way to go. =D

    I hope you find what you’re looking for!

  2. cindy Says:

    I’m tired of people asking me when I’m going to settle down with someone. Sometimes I feel like telling them that getting married is not something you get to do because you have to. It’s not like buying a car, get it when you want, sell it when you’ve found something new! 😡

    I hope you find what you’re looking for, Saiful. All the best! 😀

  3. Gallivanter Says:

    Marriage is a life-long commitment, but many people seem to be shallow about it and think it’s ALWAYS happily ever after stuff. Just have fun first..life’s too short to be getting worked up on marriages alone… 😉

  4. SR215 Says:

    Thanks for your opinion guys. And thanks for understanding. 🙂


Leave a comment