ThroughTheLens

7th Borneo Cobra 10s 2007 November 10, 2007

Filed under: Labuan Rugby Club — saifulrizan @ 8:24 am
Labuan Rugby Club was invited to the Borneo Cobra 10s 2007. The event was held in Stadium Likas Kota Kinabalu on the 3rd and 4th November 2007; recently. We were honored to be invited to this tournament. Thought we only got a week to prepare before heading to Kota Kinabalu, we felt the urge to give a fair competition to the teams participated. With an average size of Asian man, we were scheduled to play against SRU Borneo Eagles, Penguins International Rugby Club from UK and Potbellies Rugby Club. I personally felt the tension with right foot problem, causing an extra cautious and a little bit nervous to play against big size rugby players. Let’s not talk more, because I don’t have much chance to play for the whole three match. At least my face included in the team picture and sold at RM 15 on one booth over there.

The team consist of mainly junior player (in terms of age, not period of participated) and few addition of senior player. We hope speed is our main advantage since we realized we can’t bang the wall with skins and bones. In our way to Menumbok from Labuan, we talked about the plan and tactical moves. The 1 hour and 30 minutes ferry trip was all about the game play, and the prediction of who’s who, and what’s what. When arrived, we took a bus to Kota Kinabalu – for the next boring 2 and half hour trip. In Kota Kinabalu, we stayed at Marina Court, courtesy of the organizer.


During the first day of the game, I managed to put myself in the first 10 players to play against SRU Borneo Eagles. Though my knee getting better and I felt the excitement to play more, I only got 5 minutes to play before someone replaced my position which left me err… nah! Just forget it!

All I can say, I enjoy watching the whole game, though I felt unsatis……. There it go again…


What can I say? Where else you can find a chance to be in a sea of rugby players, merged from different continentals. And most of them are international rugby players. Any rugby players would feel the excitement. But I don’t know about Julian . He’s taking pictures the whole day with his fellows, under the burning sun. Thanks Julian for taking my pics that day. I hope my big belly wont cracked your camera lens

Let’s speed up the story, ok. Sandakan Eagles merged as the champion tournament.

Ok, end of story. Labuan Rugby Club will compete again next year.

Read more about this in my friend blog, Julian.

 

7 Responses to “7th Borneo Cobra 10s 2007”

  1. C Jane Says:

    Wahhhh… sweating men!!!

    *drools*

    😛

  2. SR215 Says:

    are you drooling at me???

    *blushinggggggg* 😛

  3. cindy Says:

    Eh.. you were in the pics??

    How come I don’t see you?!! O.O

  4. Anonymous Says:

    these photos r dum.u need more aotearoa maori men.wots the difrence btween the sangakan eagles and borneo eagles?coz i know borneo eagles won coz we stayd at the ame hotel.

  5. Anonymous Says:

    these photos r dum.u need more aotearoa maori men.wots the difrence btween the sangakan eagles and borneo eagles?coz i know borneo eagles won coz we stayd at the ame hotel.

  6. SR215 Says:

    anon : I bet you must be from the Maori’s team. Sorry mate, I didn’t manage to take more pictures since I enjoy watching the game, instead of holding the camera. You can go to http://81lions.blogspot.com to view more pictures.

    Borneo Eagles is a development team brought by IJM Plantation and Sandakan Eagles. Simply to say, Sandakan Eagles is a big brother to Borneo Eagles.

    Anyway, it’s Sandakan Eagles that won the Borneo Cobra 10s 2007.

  7. LeeHng Says:

    hey it was a good game! 😀 But kasian 2nd day i wasnt around to witness it T.T

    maybe some day u can teach me how to play the game? it looks fun! 😀

    … just dont break my bone aight… ^^”


Leave a Reply

