ThroughTheLens

Opel Vectra B – The real shitbox November 22, 2007

Filed under: Automobile — saifulrizan @ 1:24 pm

Today I think a lot about matters that would force me to burn my wallet again. If I decide to take it all, there’ll be more than wallet that will be hit by the Armageddon. I wonder why those things I needed requires a lot of money. I’ve been calculating the income that I’ve expected for December. Too bad I have to count in my income for January and February as well!

Let’s start with the items with petty amount to be expensed on. A Nikon D40, a Dopod 838 Pro and little office furniture and fittings for an office I’ve setup at home. Not that I don’t want to make use the current office where NXG Solutions located at, but I’m trying to avoid the conflict of interest in managing the business(es).

OpelVectraBEmblem

So far, the only thing that would cause a super headache will be the cost of swapping the engine. Perhaps I haven’t mentioned that I drive a Honda and the Opel Vectra B. The latter I bought in cash, given the current market value allows me to avoid the necessity of applying the loan. That would give me less allocation for payment of debt from my income. So the only things I need to consider are the annual tax, insurance, petrol, service and maintenance.

OpelVectraBandHondaCityTypeZ

The only thing with the Opel is the engine. Given that it is fully imported, the spare parts for the engine are the rarest thing in Labuan. Just imagine sensor oxygen will cost me RM 1,000 including installation; which was broken during my stay in Australia (courtesy of whoever drove the car that time). I inspect the case where the entire important sensor were put in one place, and realized there’s more than four sensors, and it all looks like it’s going to be broken in two months to come. Imagine if I have to change the other four sensors, and it all costs me RM 4,000 in total – that would be the cost of swapping Japanese made engine to the Opel.

OpelVectraBEcoTecEngine

I’ve made my mind – swap the Opel Vectra ECOTEC engine to any 3S engine from Toyota. Be it the 3S from the Caldina, Altezza or MR2, I still haven’t decide yet. All I need now is an engine that capable enough to give an average performance to the car. It’s a daily use car. Plus, I need a cheaper maintenance, spare parts and I want a manual transmission. So far, there’s an offer for the engine, complete with the manual transmission for RM 5,000.00. I’m still looking for other options. There’s also another offer but with different engine, that is the RB20 from Nissan Skyline series – not sure if it’s from the R32 or R33, but I have to keep the sense together that the Opel will be used only for daily use; from home to office. If I want a race breed engine, I’ll go for the Nissan Fairlady 350Z, Nissan Sylvia, Toyota Supra, Mazda RX7 or any other super car.

OpelVectraBEngineSensor

For now, I keep the Opel at home, leaving it for good, for now. While the fuel consumption is pretty inefficient, due to some problems with the fuel pump and the fuel line, I expect there’ll be some problems with the gearbox as well (my apology, I forgot the term ‘gearbox’ for auto tranny car – is it torque converter?).
My friend ever said any cars from Japan are shit box, and praised this Opel for its engineering technology. It’s proven now that no matter how modern and hi-tech the car is, it will be the real shit box if the spare part for it are not available in masses and it costs a night with Paris Hilton just to make it work.
For now, I’ll manage my savings and look for any opportunity to make more money, for the sake of fixing the shitbox.
 

2 Responses to “Opel Vectra B – The real shitbox”

  1. Anonymous Says:

    hi… i own a vectra also, same color like urs, im shocked when u said u change the sensor and cost u a thousand? i replaced mine myself, i ordered the part from ebay.. cost me less than rm400.

  2. saifulrizan Says:

    Dude, tell me where you got this one?

    *Hope you still surfing my blog lah.


Leave a Reply

