ThroughTheLens

Best of 2007 December 28, 2007

Filed under: Photos — saifulrizan @ 2:13 am
For the last post of 2007, I picked some of the best pictures that I took during 2007 with Sony DSC H5 and BenQ DC C510. A bit warning though; this post is super long. Get used to it.

Sunset at Pancur Hitam

Portrait | Manual Exposure | ISO200 | Aperture Value 3.50 | 13.80 mm | EV -1.00 | 1/100 Second

This picture was taken a couple of days after I got the H5. I purposely was waiting for the right time, from 5.00 pm to 6.30 pm (approximately) to get the right (I think) shot. During that interval period, I took about 100 images – and only one is the best.

Sungai Labu, Labuan

Standard | Manual Exposure | ISO320 | F Number=3.20 | Focal Length=7.50 mm | Exposure bias=1.00 | Exposure Time=1/8 Second

Too bad I got this image in 640 x 480. Too bad…

Silhouette

Standard | Auto Exposure | 1/30 Second | Aperture Value=3.30 | ISO100 | F =3.30
Focal Length=7.30 mm | Exposure bias=-0.70 | Maximum lens aperture=2.97

This was taken from my office, back then when I used to work from morning to late at night. This was taken with my BenQ DC C510, a P&S camera.

Time Traveler

Night Scene | Manual Exposure | Flash=On | ISO Speed Rating=ISO125 | F Number=2.80 | Focal Length=6.00 mm | Light Source=Auto | Exposure bias=1.00 | Exposure Time=1 Second | Maximum lens aperture=3.00 Metering mode=Spot

If only the A pillar was not visible because of the flash. To determine a correct composition in a moving car is like running and carrying a basket of eggs at the same time. Anyway, I like how it turns out, because this picture taken during the day I got the H5.

Dancer

ISO320 | F Number=3.20 | Focal Length=12.40 mm | 1/250 Second | Maximum lens aperture=3.00

This was taken during the opening ceremony of Labuan International Sea Challenge 2007. I ran away from the crowd and have to use the superzoom feature to take this shot. Plus, there were plenty of photogs with dSLR there, so I was kinda shy. 🙂 I like their lighting setup, because for some 2 seconds, it will dim, giving some dramatic scene to the dance – and those 2 seconds was forever to wait!

Red

Standard | Auto Exposure | ISO Speed Rating=ISO125 | F Number=4.50 | Focal Length=63.80 mm | 1/1000 Second

Taken at Labuan Bird Park, when I started taking pictures of the birds there.

An Old Man

Standard | ISO125 | F Number=4.50 | Focal Length=72.00 mm | 1/500 | Maximum lens aperture=3.00

This old man was on the boat that participated in the ROLEX IGFA Qualifying Round, a deep sea fishing tournament organized as part of the Labuan International Sea Challenge 2007. Was trying to take a black & white image of this one, but it wasn’t a shiny day at that time.

Don’t dump me here

Standard | Manual Exposure | ISO160 | F Number=4.50 | Focal Length=72.00 mm | Exposure bias=-0.30 | 1/1000 Second

Taken at Labuan Sea Sport Complex, this girl was in the water with her partner (in this picture, her partner was diving) while a boat passing through. While the girl looking at the boat, I decided that was the opportunity!

Bassist

Standard | Exposure Mode=Manual Exposure | ISO320 | F Number=3.70 | Focal Length=72.00 mm | Exposure bias=-0.30 | 1/80 Second

He participated in the Battle Of The Band, a side-event for Labuan International Sea Challenge. I guess he was the bassist with a style and cool expression among others musician. Anyhow, this guy reminded me of Jimmy Chamberlain from Smashing Pumpkins; though Jimmy was the band guitarist.

Band

Standard | Manual Exposure | ISO320 | F Number=3.50 | Focal Length=19.20 mm | Exposure bias=-0.30 | 1/125 Second

The band leader sang aggressively, energetic and compelling. The stage lighting was the last thing I need for taking pictures with the H5, so I have to cope with plenty of blown images.

Ferrari

Standard | Manual Exposure | ISO320 | F Number=3.20 | Focal Length=10.00 mm | Exposure bias=-2.00 | Exposure Time=1/20 Second | Maximum lens aperture=3.00

After reading a post on the Internet about a simple DIY studio, I decided to give it a try. With a black cardboard, and portable light, I did a set of photos of the miniature Ferrari F430 and Enzo.
Little boy

Standard | Manual Exposure | ISO320 | F Number=3.50 | Focal Length=36.90 mm | Exposure bias=1.00 | Exposure Time=1/8 Second

While wasting times in the ferry to Menumbok (it’s half an hour trip on the ferry alone), I saw this boy looking at me; while I was cleaning the lens filter. While he’s peeking at me, I took his photo secretly.
Signal Hill

Standard | Auto Exposure | ISO125 | F Number=3.20 | Focal Length=6.00 mm | 1/13 Second

I love the composition, but somehow I got noisy all over the image. Though I set the Aperture high a bit, but still I got a dark image. I still need to work on this when I come back to Signal Hill, Kota Kinabalu sometimes next year.

Alaf Baru

Standard | Auto Exposure | ISO125 | F Number=5.60 | Focal Length=72.00 mm | Exposure bias=0.00 | 1/500 Second

While sitting in the car, waiting for the ferry to Labuan arrive, I saw this scene. From the other side of the wire fence, I use the super zoom. If this is what they called Depth Of Field, I must have been zooming extremely to the sign board (Alaf Baru – Computer Centre) and abandoned the old man image to make a statement – generation collision. And that was a failure.

Staring at the sky
Location: Sungai Lada, Labuan

Standard | Auto Exposure | ISO320 | F Number=2.80 | Focal Length=6.00 mm | Exposure bias=0.00 | Exposure Time=1/8 Second

Power of Life
Location: Morningside, Queensland

Standard | Manual Exposure | ISO125 | F Number=5.60 | Focal Length=6.00 mm | Exposure bias=0.30 | Exposure Time=1/640 Second

Standard | Auto Exposure | ISO125 | F Number=2.80 | Focal Length=6.00 mm | Exposure Time=1/40 Second

Nothing. Just to say I did fly this plane.

Crocodile

Standard | Auto Exposure | ISO125 | F Number=4.00 | Focal Length=12.40 mm | Exposure bias=0.00 | Exposure Time=1/250 Second

This was taken during the trip to Sandakan Crocodile Farm recently. How I wish the sunlight would shine directly to the crocodile to make it more obvious.

Long boat

ISO125 | F Number=4.00 | Focal Length=9.60 mm | Exposure bias=0.00 | 1/80 Second

I used Auto Enhance mode to bring out the contrast of this image.

Fishes

ISO125 | F Number=4.00 | Focal Length=71.70 mm | Exposure bias=0.70 | Exposure Time=1/400 Second

This is my first Depth Of Field image taken during the Labuan International Sea Challenge 2007.

Petal

Standard | Manual Exposure | ISO320 | F Number=2.80 | Focal Length=6.00 mm | Exposure bias=1.00 | Exposure Time=1/30 Second
Tree Bark

Standard | Auto Exposure | ISO125 | F Number=4.00 | Focal Length=6.00 mm | Exposure bias=0.00 | Exposure Time=1/160 Second | Metering mode=Center-weighted Average

Taken at Sandakan Park recently.

Lady In Red

Standard | Auto Exposure | ISO125 | F Number=2.80 | Focal Length=6.10 mm | 1/40 Second

This was my first time taking pictures inside a shopping complex, where yellow lights are dominant. When I decided to quit taking photos and reset the setting and started to looking for white paper to adjust the white balance, I saw this lady in red.

Mini Morris

Standard | Auto Exposure | ISO125 | F Number=4.00 | Focal Length=6.00 mm | 1/125 Second

This image resulted from my first attempt on unusual angle. You can read the original post here

Happy Family

Standard | Manual Exposure | ISO400 | F Number=2.80 | Focal Length=6.00 mm | Exposure bias=-0.70 | 1/200 Second + 58mm Hoya Yellow Filter

In 2008, I really hope I can buy myself a dSLR. I got some reviews of the camera saved in my hard disk, but still I can’t make decision. Some people said a Nikon D40 is good for a beginner like me. But still there are plenty of choices out there, and I have to match it with what I need – easy to use while easy to learn, multiple choices of lenses during my learning process, cheap (not that cheap, but still affordable).

So, can you help me with what should I pick?

nuffnang_bid = “081fd07fd721ff375650480881a47c88”;

 

2 Responses to “Best of 2007”

  1. Shemah Says:

    Saiful!!

    I love the pictures!! OMG! They’re amazing! And I love the fact that my computer doesn’t crash anymore going to your blog! LOL! Even if it does, no worries! Coz I got my lappy already! Hehehehe..

    Anyways, back to the pictures, my favourite will have to be the Sunset at Pancur Hitam, Don’t dump me here (makes me wanna jump into the sea and… drown. Coz i can’t swim), Signal Hill (never had I seen Signal Hill so amazing before) and Happy Family (looks like me, hubby and my son’s family picture! LOL!).

    Since you made the effort to make a long post, then you’re stuck with a long comment too. Sorry!

    Well, you have a great New Year 2008, may all your resolution/wishes/dreams come true. Will be looking forward to many more beautiful pictures from you!

    Cheers!!

    Me,
    Shemah

  2. SR215 Says:

    Hi Shemah,

    I never thought you would drop by my blog anymore. hahaha.

    Thanks for the compliment, and thanks for liking my pictures. I appreciate that! 🙂

    happy new Year to you and your family too. All the best for 2008.

    Cheers!


Leave a Reply

