ThroughTheLens

Bokeh? January 29, 2008

Filed under: Photography — saifulrizan @ 2:03 am

I don’t know if the title sounds right.

To be honest, when I taking these pictures below, I was adjusting the Aperture to get the desired Depth Of Field (DOF). I was trying to practice what I’ve read from the Amateur Photographer magazine and from other people’s blog about Depth Of Field and their pictures demonstrating it.

However, I still can’t get the relation between bokeh (it’s Japanese term for blurness) and Depth Of Field.

Anyway, these pictures below are the sample of shallow depth of field. It means that only a small portion of the flower is in focus. I did this with wide open aperture (the widest I can get from this DSC H5 is F8.0).

flower-bokeh-1.jpg

flower-bokeh-2.jpg

flower-bokeh-3.jpg

flower-bokeh-4.jpg

 

I know everyone is better than me when it comes to photography. Anyone can confirm what I’ve mentioned above?

Thanks!~

 

 

2 Responses to “Bokeh?”

  1. cindy Says:

    You’re definitely very much better than me! LOL

  2. saifulrizan Says:

    Well, I hope so. 🙂


Leave a Reply

