ThroughTheLens

My first time! February 17, 2008

Filed under: Photography — saifulrizan @ 3:11 am

This is my first time taking photos for my friend, Piji on his engagement day with his fiancé, Fiza. I wasn’t convinced at first, knowing that the DSC H5 wouldn’t perform very well when the battery not charged to the fullest. Besides, I never shoot for engagement and wedding ceremony before.

engagement-8.jpg

But with the current business plan I’m working on, I encourage myself to take the chance. There’s no harm trying, Plus, I can improve my public relation and communication skills through this one.

engagement-9.jpg

 

However, this is the time when I pushed my knowledge and patient to the maximum. The themes are pink and blue. While taking pictures of everything in pink, there goes the White Balance again. Juggling with the aperture did swing my head to left and right. I was trying to get the correct exposure – when the subject is no longer in focus.

 engagement-3.jpg

Congratulations to Piji.

engagement-1.jpg

My fault. This image doesn’t tell any story. It is simply because there was no engagement ring on sight despite the obvious gesture.

 engagement-2.jpg

The man should be in focus instead of the subject that appears to be sharper. Unless the subject at the front taken in full scale with the man at the back in blur – that would be something better to tell.

 engagement-7.jpg

My pictures compositions were not great either. Maybe I can do some cropping to the images. FYI, I set the image size to 5M (approximately the size of an A4 paper). But still I know I didn’t do well for this one.

 engagement-5.jpg

I remember some photographer will tell their subject to hold still and pose for the camera. Perhaps I should do that. But I want my pictures to tell the story naturally. Sometimes the subject would fake a smile, or pose awkwardly for the sake of thoughts that they will look good with that kind of pose. This is when I realize I need more than a ProSumer camera.

 engagement-4.jpg

However, I learnt something new today. Mingling with people on the scene would be easier if you decide not to be ‘transparent’ to everyone sight. People would react to a guy with camera very well. Besides, it’s a ceremony which fills with excitement and happiness, thus happy people on my photo would make me happier.

 engagement-6.jpg

I would forgive myself for the flaws on my first try. Practice makes thing better right? Besides, I got RM 50 per hour for doing this.

 

2 Responses to “My first time!”

  1. ethel Says:

    The photos are still beautiful! I see lots of pink! 😀

    By the way.. isn’t that your ex?

  2. saifulrizan Says:

    You really like it? Thanks!!

    p/s : Opportunity should never be rejected for any unnecessary matters. 🙂


Leave a Reply

