ThroughTheLens

I DIY MY Holga February 21, 2008

Filed under: Holga 120N,Photography — saifulrizan @ 2:55 am

When I bought the Holga, I thought 120 film is not possible to find at any shop. Hell I should do my homework first.

After looking through at some websites and blogs, I learned how to use 35mm film with this camera, provided there was some rough modification to do to your Holga if you don’t mind.

holga-modification-5.jpg

 

Basically, this is how it looks like after I did some addition to the camera.

 holga-modification-1.jpg

The green tape contains cotton inside, to hold the film in place. 120 film should fit the film compartment perfectly, but not the 35mm film. So the thing should hold the film roll a little bit accurate this time.

 holga-modification-3.jpg

I wrap the upper part and the bottom part (not shown here) of the Take Up Spool with rubberbands to hold the film in place when I turn the Film Advance Knob. I learned that if I don’t do this, the film will moving up and down.

 holga-modification-2.jpg

I use part of the film box and slide it in under the take up spool to provide much needed tension when turning the Advance Knob.

 holga-modification-4.jpg

I purposely tape the Film Counter Window to prevent light leak to the film. 35mm film don’t have what the 120 film has – a sort of layer at the back with a number of it for indication purpose. Meaning, the 35mm film is so sensitive to light you have to tape the entire possible gap which would let light leak into the camera.

 

Some people would mummify their Holga.

 

Anyway, I am still waiting for the film adaptor and the flash for Holga 120N. I will have more fun with this camera soon!!!!!

 

Leave a Reply

